clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Correction Section

Yesterday, I wrote that we were all discussing the situation during the rain delay and I had told everyone that the score would have reverted to the last completed inning and the Cubs would have won if the game had been called at that point.

Wrong, as it turns out; that rule was changed several years ago. MLB rule 4.12 (5) states, as part of describing conditions under which games are to be suspended:

"Weather, if the game is called while an inning is in progress and before it is completed, and one of the following situations prevails: (i) The visiting team has scored one or more runs to tie the score, and the home team has not scored. (ii) The visiting team has scored one or more runs to take the lead, and the home team has not tied the score or retaken the lead."

Part (ii) above is what applied in yesterday's game at the time the rain hit.

Hey, the Cubs won anyway, so it's just an interesting point. Thanks to Brian Tomala who e-mailed me about this.