clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ronny = Nomar?

The Cubs' 40-man roster has been updated to include newly-issued uniform numbers, and Ronny Cedeno has been issued Nomar Garciaparra's old number 5.

I'm kind of surprised that Michael Barrett, who wore #5 with the Expos and had it for half a season with the Cubs before Nomar arrived, didn't ask for it back.

From my friend Kasey's excellent All-Time Cubs Uniform Number Page, here is a list of all the Cubs who have worn #5 through 2005:

Johnny Moore, Riggs Stephenson, Tuck Stainback, Billy Jurges, Dick Bartell, Billy Rogell, Bill Myers, Clyde McCullough, Hank Schenz, Bob Ramazzotti, Bruce Edwards, Vern Morgan, Frank Kellert, Bobby Del Greco, Frank Ernaga, Tony Taylor, Lou Boudreau (m), Jimmie Schaffer, Whitey Lockman (c), Joey Amalfitano (player, c and m), Q. V. Lowe (c), Adrian Garrett, Irv Noren (c), Randy Hundley, Al Dark (c), Gordy MacKenzie (c), Ruben Amaro (c), Jim Snyder (c), Chuck Cottier (c), Jim Lefebvre (m), Jim Riggleman (m), Rene Lachemann (c)(m), Tom Goodwin, Tony Womack, Michael Barrett, Nomar Garciaparra

(c=coach; m=manager)

Not an All-Star list, frankly.

Other uniform numbers of new arrivals to the team, or players newly added to the roster for 2006, some of which have already been announced:

  1. Juan Pierre
  2. Jacque Jones
  3. John Mabry
  4. Scott Eyre
  5. Jose Reyes
  6. Sean Marshall
  7. David Aardsma
  8. Brian Dopirak
  9. Scott Moore
  10. Carlos Marmol
  11. Bob Howry
  12. Angel Guzman
  13. Felix Pie
  14. Jae-Kuk Ryu