HoF Ballot

The MLB Hall of Fame unveiled the 2008 ballot today. It is very possible that this will be a year where some of the overlooked candidates get into Cooperstown. First timers on the ballot this year are Tim Raines, David Justice, Brady Anderson, Rod Beck, Shawon Dunston, Chuck Finley, Travis Fryman, Chuck Knoblauch, Robb Nen, Jose Rijo and Todd Stottlemyre. Beck is eligable following his death which calls for the remainder of the 5-year waiting period to be waived.

Of the first time candidates Raines is the only one who likely will get serious Hall of Fame consideration, though I imagine he won't get in on the first ballot.

Below is the entire Hall of Fame ballot. Of the holdovers Jim Rice, Rich Gossage, Andre Dawson and Bert Blyleven have come the closest to getting elected, with Gossage falling 21 votes short last year.

  • Brady Anderson
  • Harold Baines
  • Rod Beck
  • Bert Blyleven
  • Dave Concepcion
  • Andre Dawson
  • Shawon Dunston
  • Chuck Finley
  • Travis Fryman
  • Rich Gossage
  • Tommy John
  • David Justice
  • Chuck Knoblauch
  • Don Mattingly
  • Mark McGwire
  • Jack Morris
  • Dale Murphy
  • Robb Nen
  • Dave Parker
  • Tim Raines
  • Jim Rice
  • Jose Rijo
  • Lee Smith
  • Todd Stottlemyre
  • Alan Trammell
  • FanPosts are written by readers of Bleed Cubbie Blue, and as such do not reflect the views of SB Nation or Vox Media, nor is the content endorsed by SB Nation, Vox Media or Al Yellon, managing editor of Bleed Cubbie Blue or reviewed prior to posting.