clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Vote For Vince Lloyd For The Hall Of Fame's Frick Award

New, comments

Every year, the Hall of Fame selects a broadcaster to receive the Ford C. Frick Award. Many former Cubs broadcasters have received this award -- Jack Brickhouse, Harry Caray, Gene Elston, and yes, even Milo Hamilton. Here's a complete list of all the Frick recipients.

There's one significant Cubs broadcaster who I believe deserves this honor and has been left out -- Vince Lloyd. For nearly 30 years, on both WGN radio and TV, Vince was one of the voices of my childhood (and that of many others here, I know). He took over the WGN radio play-by-play role under difficult circumstances in 1965, after the tragic death of Jack Quinlan in a car accident. For the next 22 seasons he and Lou Boudreau were the voices of the Cubs on radio.

Vince Lloyd was also the first sportscaster to interview a president of the United States on live TV when, while covering the White Sox at Senators Opening Day game in 1961, he was able to get a quick interview with President Kennedy.

I believe that Lloyd, who died in 2003, deserves this honor. You can vote for him at the Hall of Fame's Facebook page -- the top three vote-getters from the fan poll will be on the 10-person final ballot that will be considered by the following committee:

The Frick electorate includes all living Award-winners and five historians/veteran media members appointed by the Hall of Fame. The voting electorate consists of 20 members, featuring 2009 Ford C. Frick Award winner Tony Kubek and the other 14 living Frick Award winners: Marty Brennaman, Jerry Coleman, Gene Elston, Joe Garagiola, Ernie Harwell, Jaime Jarrin, Milo Hamilton, Denny Matthews, Dave Niehaus, Felo Ramirez, Vin Scully, Lon Simmons, Bob Uecker and Bob Wolff. The five historians and veteran media members also part of the electorate include: Bob Costas (NBC), Barry Horn (Dallas Morning News), Stan Isaacs (formerly of New York Newsday), Ted Patterson (historian) and Curt Smith (historian).

More details here. Voting will continue through the month of December. Let's get Vince Lloyd this honor he deserves.