clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Cubs Convention Is Sold Out. Here's A Complete List Of Attendees

For the first time in several years, there will be a real buzz at the Cubs Convention.

Crowd at the Ricketts Family Forum at the 2014 Cubs Convention
Crowd at the Ricketts Family Forum at the 2014 Cubs Convention
David Sameshima

The Cubs announced Friday that the annual Convention, which takes place next weekend (January 16-18), is sold out of individual passes and room packages at the Sheraton, the hotel hosting the Convention. The Cubs say there are a limited number of room packages with weekend passes remaining at the W Chicago Lakeshore Hotel. Cubs Convention room rates include passes at a discounted price of $20 per pass.

If you're going, here's a complete list of everyone Cubs-connected who will be in attendance at the Convention.

Major League Players

Arismendy Alcantara, INF/OF
Jake Arrieta, RHP
Javier Baez, INF
Dallas Beeler, RHP
Welington Castillo, C
Starlin Castro, SS
Chris Coghlan, OF
Justin Grimm, RHP
Jason Hammel, RHP
Kyle Hendricks, RHP
Edwin Jackson, RHP
Eric Jokisch, LHP
Tommy La Stella, INF
Jon Lester, LHP
Rafael Lopez, C
Miguel Montero, C
Jason Motte, RHP
Mike Olt, INF
Blake Parker, RHP
Neil Ramirez, RHP
Anthony Rizzo, 1B
Hector Rondon, RHP
Zac Rosscup, LHP
Brian Schlitter, RHP
Jorge Soler, OF
Dan Straily, RHP
Pedro Strop, RHP
Ryan Sweeney, OF
Matt Szczur, OF
Jacob Turner, RHP
Luis Valbuena, INF
Tsuyoshi Wada, LHP
Travis Wood, LHP

Note: Some of the players listed above, obviously, won't be in the major leagues in 2015. The list is from those currently on the 40-man roster (with one exception, see below). All of them played in the majors in 2014, and this represents 33 of the 40 players on the roster. I find it interesting that Castillo is expected to attend, given the trade rumors swirling around him. In case you're interested, the seven from the 40-man roster not on this list are David Ross, Felix Doubront, Mike Kickham, Joseph Ortiz, Christian Villanueva and Junior Lake. C.J. Edwards is listed with the minor-league players below even though he's on the 40-man roster, likely because he's not expected to play in the big leagues this year (or, at least, not until September).

Minor League Players

Albert Almora, OF
Kris Bryant, INF
C.J. Edwards, RHP
Pierce Johnson, RHP
Addison Russell, INF
Kyle Schwarber, C/OF

Cubs Alumni

George Altman, INF/OF
Glenn Beckert, INF
Ryan Dempster, RHP
Bob Dernier, OF
Mark DeRosa, INF/OF
Leon Durham, INF/OF
Bob Howry, RHP
Randy Hundley, C
Fergie Jenkins, RHP
Jay Johnstone, OF
Jacque Jones, OF
Les Lancaster, RHP
Jon Lieber, RHP
Ted Lilly, LHP
Bill Madlock, INF
Gary Matthews, OF
Dave Otto, LHP, Broadcaster
Milt Pappas, RHP
Glendon Rusch, LHP
Lee Smith, RHP
Tim Stoddard, RHP
Rick Sutcliffe, RHP
Steve Trout, LHP
Billy Williams, OF
Kerry Wood, RHP

Coaching Staff

Joe Maddon, Manager
Henry Blanco, Quality Assurance Coach
Mike Borzello, Catching Coach
Chris Bosio, Pitching Coach
Eric Hinske, Asst. Hitting Coach
Brandon Hyde, First Base Coach
Gary Jones, Third Base Coach
John Mallee, Hitting Coach
Dave Martinez, Bench Coach
Lester Strode, Bullpen Coach

Team Executives

Tom Ricketts, Chairman
Laura Ricketts, Board Member
Todd Ricketts, Board Member
Theo Epstein, President, Baseball Operations
Crane Kenney, President, Business Operations

Baseball Staff/Broadcasters

Jed Hoyer, EVP/GM
Jason McLeod, SVP, Scouting & Player Development
Randy Bush, Assistant GM
Shiraz Rehman, Assistant GM
Pat Hughes, Radio Broadcaster
Ron Coomer, Radio Broadcaster, INF (2001)
Len Kasper, TV Broadcaster
Jim Deshaies, TV Broadcaster

If you're going, enjoy -- but be prepared for big crowds at many of the sessions, particularly anywhere Joe Maddon is scheduled, and also for the business session where the Cubs will be revealing their bleacher contingency plan. Lines for autographs will also likely be quite long. This will be a good test of the Sheraton, which is a much more compact venue than the former Convention home of the Chicago Hilton & Towers.

Finally, here is a complete schedule of all the convention sessions.