clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cubs Set National League Championship Series Roster

There has been just one change in the roster for this series from the last one.

David Banks/Getty Images

Cubs shortstop Addison Russell, as you know, is injured and will miss the National League Championship Series against the Mets. By rule, the Cubs are permitted to replace him on the roster for this series, as every series roster can be different. Saturday morning, the Cubs released the following roster for the NLCS:


David Ross
Quintin Berry
Chris Coghlan
Javier Baez
Tommy La Stella
Kyle Schwarber
Starlin Castro
Chris Denorfia
Kris Bryant
Dexter Fowler
Austin Jackson
Anthony Rizzo
Miguel Montero
Jorge Soler


Kyle Hendricks, RHP
Clayton Richard, LHP
Jon Lester, LHP
Travis Wood, LHP
Jason Hammel, RHP
Pedro Strop, RHP
Jake Arrieta, RHP
Justin Grimm, RHP
Trevor Cahill, RHP
Hector Rondon, RHP
Fernando Rodney, RHP

So, the only change from the Division Series roster is Berry replacing Russell. Theo & Co. and Joe Maddon apparently feel that Baez can handle shortstop by himself for this series and that the addition of Berry, whose value is primarily as a pinch-runner, could be a difference-maker for the set.

You, no doubt, have opinions on this. Have at it.