clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Jake Arrieta Wins National League Cy Young Award

New, 179 comments

The Cubs are 3-for-3 so far in the award season.

Dennis Wierzbicki-USA TODAY Sports

There are three pitchers this year who had seasons that could be considered Cy Young Award caliber years. Jake Arrieta, Zack Greinke and Clayton Kershaw all had 2015 campaigns that, in any other year where they weren't competing with each other for this award, would have likely won it, and perhaps unanimously.

So you can make a case for any of the three of them. Kershaw led the major leagues in strikeouts and innings and tied Arrieta for the lead in complete games and shutouts. Arrieta had a second half that hadn't been seen since the deadball era and threw a no-hitter. Greinke led the majors in WHIP and ERA and his ERA was not above 2.00 at any point all year.

In a very close vote, Arrieta was the winner of the N.L. Cy Young Award bestowed by the voters of the Baseball Writers Association of America. He had 17 first-place votes. Greinke had 10 first-place votes and Kershaw three. Arrieta becomes the fourth Cub to be so honored, after Fergie Jenkins (1971), Rick Sutcliffe (1984) and Greg Maddux (1992).

Dallas Keuchel of the Astros had a breakout year in 2015 and helped lead his team to the A.L. Wild Card, and wins the A.L. Cy Young.

As has been my custom this week, I present to you the results of the voting of the Internet Baseball Writers Association, of which I am a member. The IBWAA winners are the same as the BBWAA winners, and here's how the IBWAA voting went.

Arrieta received 79 first-place votes (43.89%) and 930 points while being named on 178 of 180 ballots (98.89%). Others receiving first-place votes include Zack Greinke (68), Clayton Kershaw (31) and Max Scherzer (2). Greinke had 851 points, Kershaw 655, Gerrit Cole 184 and Scherzer 169.

Keuchel received 92 first-place votes (51.40%) and 956 points while being named on 175 of 179 ballots (97.22%). Others receiving first-place votes include David Price (80), Chris Sale (5) and Sonny Gray (2). Price had 904 points, Gray 351, Sale 282 and Chris Archer 227.

My ballot:

N.L.: Arrieta, Greinke, Kershaw, Jacob deGrom, Scherzer
A.L.: Keuchel, Price, Sale, Corey Kluber, Jose Quintana

The final awards, the league MVPs, will be announced Thursday. The Cubs won't make it a sweep as I expect Bryce Harper to be the N.L. MVP. But some Cubs should get some downballot love; I would expect Anthony Rizzo to finish in the top five and Kris Bryant in the top 10. Arrieta could get some downballot MVP votes as well.