clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Cubs Set Championship Series Roster

New, comments

There aren’t really any surprises here.

Jon Durr-USA TODAY Sports

Rumors had been flying for some time since the Cubs won their division series that they might go with 12 pitchers for the NLCS, instead of the 11 they had against the Giants.

There are good reasons for this; the longer series is one, and adding another bullpen lefty seemed important given that the Dodgers are a very lefthanded team. And so, Rob Zastryzny replaces Tommy La Stella, and the Cubs will go with 13 position players instead of the 14 they had for the division series.

The announcement of the roster for the series beginning tonight was made Saturday morning, so without further ado, here are the 25 men who will go into battle for the Cubs against the Dodgers, starting with Game 1 tonight.


Jon Lester, Kyle Hendricks, Jake Arrieta, John Lackey, Aroldis Chapman, Hector Rondon, Pedro Strop, Justin Grimm, Travis Wood, Mike Montgomery, Carl Edwards Jr., Rob Zastryzny


David Ross, Miguel Montero, Willson Contreras


Anthony Rizzo, Ben Zobrist, Addison Russell, Kris Bryant, Javier Baez


Dexter Fowler, Jason Heyward, Jorge Soler, Albert Almora Jr., Chris Coghlan