clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kenley Jansen, Zach Britton Win IBWAA Reliever of the Year Award

Two of the top relievers in the game get postseason honors.

Photo by Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images

I’m a member of the Internet Baseball Writers Association of America, an alternative group to the BBWAA. Here’s some more detail on who we are:

Among approximately 460 others, IBWAA members include Jim Bowden, Jim Caple, Schoenfield and Mark A. Simon of; Tim Brown, Yahoo! Sports; Craig Calcaterra, NBC Sports Hardball Talk; Bill Chuck,; Derrick Goold, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; Jon Heyman, Today’s Knuckleball; Danny Knobler, Bleacher Report; Kevin Kennedy; Kostya Kennedy, Sports Illustrated; Will Leitch, Sports on Earth; Bruce Markusen, Hardball Times; Ross Newhan; Dayn Perry and Matt Snyder,; Tom Hoffarth and J.P. Hoornstra, Los Angeles Daily News; Pedro Moura, Los Angeles Times; Tracy Ringolsby,; Ken Rosenthal,; Eno Sarris, FanGraphs and Jesse Spector, Sporting News.

Like the BBWAA, every season we vote on the same awards they do, using the same voting system.

The IBWAA has selected Kenley Jansen the winner of its Hoyt Wilhelm National League Relief Pitcher of the Year award and Zach Britton the winner of its Rollie Fingers American League Relief Pitcher of the Year award.

Voting was as follows:

Jansen received 115 first-place votes (66.09%) and 697 points while being named on 163 of 174 ballots (92.09%). Others receiving first-place votes include Jeurys Familia (33), Mark Melancon (16) and Seung Hwan Oh (5).

Familia finished second, Melancon third.

Britton received 148 first-place votes (86.86%) and 785 points while being named on 167 of 173 ballots (95.35%). Others receiving first-place votes include Andrew Miller (20).

Miller finished second, Francisco Rodriguez third.

My ballots:

NL: Familia, Melancon, Jansen
AL: Britton, Roberto Osuna, Sam Dyson

Other awards from the IBWAA will be announced this week and I’ll post them here, probably a few hours before the BBWAA awards are announced.