clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Corey Seager Wins BBWAA Rookie Of The Year

No Cubs were listed on any ballots this season.

MLB: NLCS-Los Angeles Dodgers at Chicago Cubs Jon Durr-USA TODAY Sports

Dodgers shortstop Corey Seager was named Rookie of the Year in a unanimous vote of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America. Nationals center fielder Trea Turner was second and Dodgers pitcher Kenta Maeda finished third.

Seager was the 17th Dodgers player to win Rookie of the Year, more than any other team. He was the 12th National League player to be elected unanimously.

Others receiving votes were Rockies shortstop Trevor Story, Cardinals shortstop Aledmys Diaz, Rockies pitcher Jon Gray, Mets pitcher Steven Matz and Cardinals reliever Seung Hwan Oh.

Last year, Cubs third baseman Kris Bryant was named 2015 Rookie of the Year, also in a unanimous vote. No Cubs player was named on any ballot this season.

Tigers pitcher Michael Fulmer won the American League ROY. Yankees catcher Gary Sanchez was second and Indians outfielder Tyler Naquin was third.

Seager was a worthy winner who will likely also finish high in the MVP voting, announced later this week. Seager hit .308/.365/.512 with 40 doubles, five triples and 26 home runs while leading the Dodgers to the NL West title and the NL Championship Series.

Tomorrow, the BBWAA will announce the Manager of the Year awards. Cubs manager Joe Maddon is one of the three finalists in the NL.