clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dodgers Manager Dave Roberts Named BBWAA Manager of the Year

Cubs skipper Joe Maddon takes second place.

MLB: NLCS-Chicago Cubs at Los Angeles Dodgers Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

Dodgers manager Dave Roberts was named the BBWAA National League Manager of th Year today. Cubs manager Joe Maddon finished second after winning the award last season.

Roberts, who led the Dodgers to an NL West title despite a record-number of injuries to his pitching staff, won the award in his first year of managing. He received 16 first place votes to Maddon’s 8. Nationals manager Dusty Baker finished third with four first-place votes, edging Mets manager Terry Collins, who had two first-place votes. Marlins manager Don Mattingly was the only other manager named on any ballot, getting two third-place votes.

Roberts became the first Dodgers manager to win the award since Tommy Lasorda won in 1988. Lasorda also won the first NL award in 1983 and is the only other Dodgers manager to win the award.

Maddon was looking for his fourth award, which would have tied him with Tony La Russa and Bobby Cox for the most ever.

Indians manager Terry Francona won the American League Manager of the Year Award. Last year’s winner, Jeff Bannister of the Rangers finished second and Orioles skipper Buck Showalter placed third. Red Sox manager John Farrell, Yankees manager Joe Girardi and Mariners manager Scott Servais also received votes.

Tomorrow, the BBWAA will announce the Cy Young Award winners for both leagues. Two Cubs pitchers, Jon Lester and Kyle Hendricks, are among the three finalists. The third finalist, Nationals pitcher Max Scherzer, is considered by many to be the favorite.