clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

World Baseball Classic Schedule Announced

The schedule for the 2017 WBC was announced Tuesday.

Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images

The World Baseball Classic Tuesday announced their schedule for the fourth WBC tournament next year.

The tournament will start in Seoul, South Korea on March 6, 2017, as South Korea takes on Israel in Pool A play. The next day, Pool B play gets underway in Tokyo as two-time champion Japan takes on Cuba.

Pool C play takes place in Miami at Marlins Park on March 9. Defending-champion Dominican Republic will take on Canada on that day, while Team USA will make its 2017 debut the next day in Pool C against Colombia.

Pool D also starts on March 9 and will be held in Guadalajara, Mexico. The host Team Mexico will face Team Italy that day.

Pool Play is a round-robin tournament, and the top two teams from each pool will advance to two more round-robin tournaments: one held in Tokyo and one in San Diego. The final four teams will then face off in a single-elimination tournament at Dodger Stadium on March 20, 21 and 22.

The teams competing are:

Pool A (Seoul): Israel, Korea, Netherlands, Chinese Taipei.

Pool B (Tokyo): Australia, Cuba, China, Japan.

Pool C (Miami): Canada, Colombia, Dominican Republic, United States

Pool D (Guadalajara): Italy, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Venezuela

Here is the full schedule of games:

As you likely know, both Al and I think the WBC is a great tournament and it just keeps getting bigger and better every time. We’re looking forward to seeing competitive international baseball this upcoming March.