clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kris Bryant, Mike Trout Win IBWAA MVP Awards

The Cubs third baseman takes home another honor.

Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images

This should not surprise any of you. The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America bestowed its National League MVP award on Cubs third baseman Kris Bryant Thursday.

Bryant received 145 first-place votes (81.92%) and 2293 points while being named on 176 of 177 (99.44%) ballots. Others receiving first-place votes include Daniel Murphy (14), Nolan Arenado (10), Anthony Rizzo (4) and Corey Seager (3). The order of finish behind Bryant: Murphy, Seager, Arenado, Rizzo, Freddie Freeman, Joey Votto, Yoenis Cespedes, Justin Turner and Paul Goldschmidt.

The A.L. award went to Mike Trout of the Angels. Trout received 109 first-place votes (61.93%) and 1981 points while being named on 171 of 176 ballots (96.61%). Others receiving first-place votes include Mookie Betts (42), Jose Altuve (11), David Ortiz (10) and Josh Donaldson (2). The order of finish behind Trout: Betts, Altuve, Donaldson, Manny Machado, Ortiz, Robinson Cano, Adrian Beltre, Miguel Cabrera and Brian Dozier.

My ballots:

NL: Bryant, Murphy, Seager, Rizzo, Arenado, Votto, Freeman, Cespedes, Turner, Jonathan Villar

AL: Trout, Donaldson, Altuve, Cano, Ortiz, Dozier, Beltre, Seager, Machado, Betts

Bryant is expected to win the N.L. award from the BBWAA when it’s announced in a MLB Network live broadcast at 5 p.m. CT.