clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bryant, Lester, Hendricks And Maddon Nominated For BBWAA Awards

Cubs are finalists for 3 out of 4 of the postseason awards.

MLB: World Series-Chicago Cubs at Cleveland Indians David Richard-USA TODAY Sports

Today the Baseball Writers Association of America announced the three finalists for the 2016 BBWAA Awards. As you might expect from a team that won 103 games and the World Series, several Cubs are among the finalists.

The BBWAA and MLB are trying to make their year-end awards more like the awards ceremonies that you see in other fields, so they now announce the “three finalists” for each award, despite all voting having been done before the playoffs started. The Cubs that are finalists are:

  • Kris Bryant for National League Most Valuable Player
  • Kyle Hendricks for NL Cy Young
  • Jon Lester for NL Cy Young
  • Joe Maddon for NL Manager of the Year.

Bryant is a finalist along with the Nationals Daniel Murphy and the Dodgers Corey Seager, who is also a candidate for NL Rookie of the Year. Hendricks and Lester are finalists for the Cy Young alongside the Nationals Max Scherzer. The other two NL Manager of the Year candidates are the Nationals Dusty Baker and the Dodgers Dave Roberts.

The full list of finalists and when the award will be announced is as follows. All announcements will be made live on the MLB Network.

Monday, November 14, 6:00 p.m. ET:

AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year: Michael Fulmer, Tyler Naquin, Gary Sanchez

NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year: Kenta Maeda, Corey Seager, Trea Turner

Tuesday, November 15, 6:00 p.m. ET:

AL Manager of the Year: Jeff Banister, Terry Francona, Buck Showalter

NL Manager of the Year: Dusty Baker, Joe Maddon, Dave Roberts

Wednesday, November 16, 6:00 p.m. ET:

AL Cy Young Award: Corey Kluber, Rick Porcello, Justin Verlander

NL Cy Young Award: Kyle Hendricks, Jon Lester, Max Scherzer

Thursday, November 17, 6:00 p.m. ET:

AL Most Valuable Player: Jose Altuve, Mookie Betts, Mike Trout

NL Most Valuable Player: Kris Bryant, Daniel Murphy, Corey Seager

All of the Cubs finalists have already won the most important piece of silverware this year. But let’s hope that some of them will have to make more space in their rec rooms for some individual trophies.