clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cubs Minor League All-Star Team Announced

A look at the 2016 All-Stars in the Cubs minor league system, according to

Larry Kave/Myrtle Beach Pelicans

The season is now over and the Chicago Cubs became the third team in the Cubs system to win a title this season, after Eugene broke a 41-year title of their own and Myrtle Beach won back-to-back Mills Cup titles. took this opportunity to look back at the best of the Cubs minor league system and announced their Cubs Minor League All-Stars today.

This list of All-Stars is like the Player and Pitcher of the Month awards that I do at the end of each month. They are designed to reward the players who had the best season and not who the top prospects are. However, it’s pretty hard to have a great entire season and not have at least some chance of contributing in the major leagues one day. All of the players on this list are guys to keep an eye on in 2017, even if two of them are no longer Cubs.

As the article notes, even with all the trades and graduations to the majors, the Cubs still have a pair of players (Jimenez, Happ) in their Top 100 prospects in baseball.

The list is:

C—Ian Rice (South Bend, Myrtle Beach)

1B—Yasiel Balaguert (Myrtle Beach)

2B—Ian Happ (Myrtle Beach, Tennessee)

3B—Jeimer Candelario (Tennessee, Iowa, Chicago)

SS—Gleyber Torres (Myrtle Beach—also Tampa Yankees)

OF—Donnie Dewees (South Bend, Myrtle Beach)

OF—Eloy Jimenez (South Bend)

OF—John Andreoli (Iowa)

DH—Dan Vogelbach (Iowa—also Tacoma Rainiers and Seattle Mariners)

LHS—Ryan Kellogg (South Bend)

RHS—Preston Morrison (South Bend, Myrtle Beach)

Relief—Ryan McNeil (Myrtle Beach)


As you can see, most of the players on this list played in South Bend and Myrtle Beach this year, so they are still around 2 to 3 years away from contributing at the major league level. That is, unless they contribute like Torres and Vogelbach did this year, bringing back Aroldis Chapman and Mike Montgomery, who both played crucial roles in securing the World Series title for Chicago.