clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Anthony Rizzo, Jason Heyward Win Gold Gloves

Two Cubs were honored for their fielding excellence.

MLB: World Series-Cleveland Indians at Chicago Cubs Jerry Lai-USA TODAY Sports

The Rawlings Gold Glove winners were announced tonight and two Cubs, first baseman Anthony Rizzo and right fielder Jason Heyward, have been honored with the award. It is the first win for Rizzo and fourth for Heyward.

These are the first Gold Gloves won by a Cubs player since Darwin Barney won in 2012. It’s the first time two Cubs have won in the same year since Derrek Lee and Greg Maddux both won in 2005.

Addison Russell was one of the three finalists for the shortstop award won by the Giants Brandon Crawford. Jake Arrieta was a finalist for the pitcher award won by the Diamondbacks Zack Greinke.

Here’s a complete list of the Gold Glove winners.

National League

C: Buster Posey, Giants (1st Gold Glove)

1B: Anthony Rizzo, Cubs (1st Gold Glove)

2B: Joe Panik, Giants (1st Gold Glove)

3B: Nolan Arenado, Rockies (4th Gold Glove)

SS: Brandon Crawford, Giants (2nd Gold Glove)

LF: Starling Marte, Pirates (2nd Gold Glove)

CF: Ender Inciarte, Braves (1st Gold Glove)

RF: Jason Heyward, Cubs (4th Gold Glove)

P: Zack Greinke, D-backs (3rd Gold Glove)

Anerican League

C: Salvador Perez, Royals (4th Gold Glove)

1B: Mitch Moreland, Rangers (1st Gold Glove)

2B: Ian Kinsler, Tigers (1st Gold Glove)

3B: Adrian Beltre, Rangers (5th Gold Glove)

SS: Francisco Lindor, Indians (1st Gold Glove)

LF: Brett Gardner, Yankees (1st Gold Glove)

CF: Kevin Kiermaier, Rays (2nd Gold Glove)

RF: Mookie Betts, Red Sox (1st Gold Glove)

P: Dallas Keuchel, Astros (3rd Gold Glove)