clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 MLB Home Run Derby

Eight players will vie for this title at Petco Park in San Diego.

Denis Poroy/Getty Images

Anthony Rizzo and Kris Bryant chose not to participate in this year's Home Run Derby, so there's no Cubs rooting interest tonight.

So, you'll have to pick your favorite from among the following eight hitters: Todd Frazier of the Chicago White Sox, Robinson Cano of the Seattle Mariners, Wil Myers of the San Diego Padres, Mark Trumbo of the Baltimore Orioles, Cincinnati Reds outfielder Adam Duvall, Colorado Rockies outfielder Carlos Gonzalez, Los Angeles Dodgers rookie shortstop Corey Seager, and Miami Marlins outfielder Giancarlo Stanton.

The eight players were seeded in order of most home runs through last Wednesday, so here's the bracket:

home run derby bracket 2016

The rules are the same as last year. Here's how it works:

After the first round, the highest remaining seed will meet the lowest, and the two middle seeds will battle for a spot in the finals.

Those two semifinal winners will meet in the championship round. Each hitter will have four minutes to hit as many balls over the fence as possible, and a player can gain an extra 30 seconds of hitting time by hitting two blasts that go 440 feet or more.

Hitters competing in the first two rounds get one 45-second break in each round, while finalists can call timeout twice in that round.

If a round ends with the two participants tied, they will meet in a 60-second swing-off, with no timeouts available. If it is still tied, each player gets three swings until the tie is broken.

Frazier won the Derby last year as a member of the host Cincinnati Reds. He'll defend his title as a member of the White Sox. It's all in good fun, and begins at 7 p.m. CT, with TV coverage on ESPN. Enjoy!