clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The 2017 Cubs By The Numbers

A complete numerical list of the Cubs as they head to spring training.

Photo by Jason Miller/Getty Images

The Cubs will have 64 players in spring camp, the entire 40-man roster plus 24 non-roster invitees. This is a numerical list of all players and members of the coaching staff who’ll appear in camp.

Unlike past years there is just one change in number among players or coaches returning from 2016: Aaron Brooks, who was on the disabled list all of 2016. He’ll switch from No. 13 to No. 36. You will, however, note that two numbers of popular players who are gone — No. 3 for David Ross and No. 24 for Dexter Fowler — have not been issued for 2017. I’d suspect these will stay out of circulation for a couple of years, at least, unless some future player who comes to the Cubs specifically requests them (Ross, if he’s around during spring training, will certainly wear No. 3). Those are the only two numbers lower than 52 that are not being issued for this spring.

Among new Cubs, Wade Davis, who has worn No. 17 his entire career, obviously can’t have that number in Chicago. He’s reversed the digits to make it 71.

Here, then, is the complete spring roster. As always, I’ve included the Cubs’ retired numbers so you can see the complete numerical progression.

Pitchers and catchers report in 17 days and the first spring game is four weeks from today, February 25!

Non-roster invitees in italics

1 Gary Jones (third-base coach)
2 Tommy La Stella
4 Dave Martinez (bench coach)
5 Albert Almora Jr.
6 Carl Edwards Jr.
7 Jeimer Candelario
8 Jemile Weeks
9 Javier Baez
10 Ron Santo (retired)
11 John Mallee (hitting coach)
12 Kyle Schwarber
13 Carlos Corporan
14 Ernie Banks (retired)
15 Chris Dominguez
16 Brandon Hyde (first-base coach)
17 Kris Bryant
18 Ben Zobrist
19 Koji Uehara
20 Matt Szczur
21 Dylan Floro
22 Jason Heyward
23 Ryne Sandberg (retired)
25 Chris Bosio (pitching coach)
26 Billy Williams (retired)
27 Addison Russell
28 Kyle Hendricks
29 Rob Zastryzny
30 Jon Jay
31 Greg Maddux/Fergie Jenkins (retired)
32 Brian Duensing
33 Fernando Rodriguez
34 Jon Lester
35 Lester Strode (bullpen coach)
36 Aaron Brooks
37 Brett Anderson
38 Mike Montgomery
39 Manny Parra
40 Willson Contreras
41 John Lackey
42 Jackie Robinson (retired by MLB)
43 Jake Buchanan
44 Anthony Rizzo
45 Casey Kelly
46 Pedro Strop
47 Miguel Montero
48 Jim Henderson
49 Jake Arrieta
50 Gerardo Concepcion
51 Jack Leathersich
52 Justin Grimm
55 Daniel Corcino
56 Hector Rondon
57 David Rollins
58 Mike Borzello (catching coach)
59 Zac Rosscup
60 Felix Pena
61 Conor Mullee
62 Caleb Smith
63 Maikel Cleto
64 Henry Blanco (quality-control coach)
65 Franklin Font (staff assistant)
66 Munenori Kawasaki
68 Eloy Jimenez
70 Joe Maddon (manager)
71 Wade Davis
72 John Andreoli
73 Victor Caratini
74 Duane Underwood Jr.
75 Jacob Hannemann
76 Jose Rosario
77 Eric Hinske (assistant hitting coach)
78 Mark Zagunis
79 Andury Acevedo
80 Pierce Johnson
81 James Farris
82 Taylor Davis
83 Seth Frankoff
84 Jhondaniel Medina
85 Chesny Young
86 Ian Happ
87 Ryan Williams
95 Chad Noble (bullpen catcher)