clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

27 Current Cubs (And 1 Trophy) Will Attend The Convention

All the coaches plus Cubs alumni and the front-office staff will be there as well.

Danny Rockett

The Cubs announced some details for this weekend’s Cubs Convention Monday. Here’s what a press release from the team stated:

Cubs Convention’s Opening Ceremony begins Friday, January 13, at 6 p.m., kicking off the weekend with player introductions on an elevated runway that will provide special VIP access for children 16-and-under. Following the Opening Ceremony, guests will find some of their favorite Cubs and young prospects conducting exciting surprise autograph signings. The event’s first day concludes with a special Friday Night with Ryan Dempster show featuring interviews with Cubs players, coaches and alumni and comedy vignettes.

Saturday’s program continues with fan favorites such as the return of Cubs Jeopardy, which features unique trivia with Cubs alumni. Popular reoccurring Saturday sessions will be back, including Baseball Operations, Cubs Business Operations Update, Joe Maddon & His Coaching Staff, Kids Only Press Conference and Ricketts Family. New to Saturday’s line-up will be On the Mound, All-Star Infield and Cubs Legends. The evening will conclude with long-time Convention favorite Cubs Bingo, led by Wayne Messmer.

Sunday’s program concludes with additional autograph sessions and panels including Down on the Farm and Remembering ‘84.

Specific times for each of the sessions will be announced later in the week and I’ll post them when I have them.

27 players from the team’s current 40-man roster have already been confirmed to attend and are listed below, as well as 29 “alumni.” The only significant player on the 40-man who’s not listed is Koji Uehara, and I suspect he’s staying in Japan for the winter. There could be other Cubs minor leaguers announced later.

Beyond popular returnees from the past such as Ryne Sandberg and Kerry Wood, I’m guessing the biggest ovation for a Cubs alum will be for David Ross. The entire coaching staff, as well as Theo Epstein’s front-office crew, will be in attendance.

Here’s a bit more information about convention sessions, followed by the list of confirmed player attendees:

  • As part of the Cubs Trophy Tour, you’ll be able to take photos with the World Series Trophy throughout the weekend in the Cubs Trophy Room.
  • Cubs pitchers Jake Arrieta, Kyle Hendricks, Mike Montgomery and Wade Davis will discuss their 2016 season and what is on the horizon in 2017 during the On the Mound panel.
  • Relive the World Series run with Cubs All-Stars Kris Bryant, Anthony Rizzo, Addison Russell and Ben Zobrist during their All-Star Infield discussion.
  • For kids, “Clark’s Clubhouse” will host fun games, face painting, caricatures, balloon artists, a coloring station, inflatable T-ball and inflatable speed pitch.
  • Cubs Charities, located again this year on the main lobby floor, will feature a variety of items and experiences for sale, including private player meet-and-greets, baseballs, ball cubes, autographed mystery baseballs, grab bags and a garage sale. The Anthony Rizzo Family Foundation will also host a raffle.
  • And, you can visit a dedicated social media area for giveaways and an interactive GIF and photo booth with special guest appearances throughout the weekend

Current Cubs Players

Albert Almora Jr., OF
Jake Arrieta, RHP
Javier Baez, INF
Kris Bryant, INF
Jeimer Candelario, INF
Willson Contreras, C
Wade Davis, RHP
Brian Duensing, LHP
Carl Edwards Jr., RHP
Justin Grimm, RHP
Kyle Hendricks, RHP
Jason Heyward, OF
Jon Jay, OF
John Lackey, RHP
Jon Lester, LHP
Miguel Montero, C
Mike Montgomery, LHP
Felix Pena, RHP
Anthony Rizzo, INF
Hector Rondon, RHP
Jose Rosario, RHP
Addison Russell, INF
Kyle Schwarber, C/OF
Pedro Strop, RHP
Matt Szczur, OF
Rob Zastryzny, LHP
Ben Zobrist, INF/OF

Cubs Alumni

John Baker, C
Jim Bullinger, RHP
Jose Cardenal, OF
Jody Davis, C
Ryan Dempster, RHP
Bobby Dernier, OF
Randy Hundley, C
Fergie Jenkins, RHP
Jay Johnstone, OF
Pete LaCock, INF/OF
Ted Lilly, LHP
Bill Madlock, INF
Gary Matthews, OF
Sean Marshall, LHP
Brian McRae, OF
Dave Otto, LHP
Mike Remlinger, LHP
David Ross, C
Glendon Rusch, LHP
Ryne Sandberg, INF
Scott Sanderson, RHP
Dwight Smith, OF
Lee Smith, RHP
Tim Stoddard, RHP
Steve Trout, LHP
Todd Walker, INF
Billy Williams, OF
Kerry Wood, RHP