clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

The Cubs’ plane made an unscheduled stop in Albuquerque on the way to Los Angeles

New, 130 comments

This definitely wasn’t planned.

Photo by Justin Sullivan/Getty Images

It’s an open secret that the Cubs, along with most professional sports teams, use charter flights with the same flight number every time they fly.

Thus if you know this flight number, you can track it.

Here’s the tracking info for the Cubs’ plane out of Washington early Friday morning. As you can see, the plane made an unscheduled landing in Albuquerque.

Here’s why that happened:

This doesn’t sound serious, but:

This can’t be much fun for anyone in the Cubs’ traveling party. I hope the medical issue wasn’t a serious one and that everyone is all right. The team was likely going to have a workout at Dodger Stadium this afternoon and they also probably had media obligations, but those are likely now not going to happen, I’d think.

I’ll update this story when the Cubs are on the way to Los Angeles. Given that it’s nearly 11 a.m. in Chicago at the time this article was first posted, that means the Cubs have spent four and a half hours on that plane on the ground in Albuquerque.

Just to lighten the mood a bit, have a look at this:

UPDATE: The Cubs’ flight left Albuquerque at 10:28 a.m. MT (11:28 a.m. CT) and is due in at Los Angeles at 11:06 a.m. PT (1:06 p.m. CT).