clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLB Playoffs 2017: Cubs set division series roster

Most of this is exactly as expected.

Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images

The only real surprise here is that the Cubs did not include Hector Rondon on the NLDS roster, and did include Justin Wilson.

The only conclusion I can draw is that Rondon isn’t 100 percent healthy, and/or management feels that having an extra lefthander on the roster would be useful against the Nationals’ lefty-heavy lineup.

Now, we have to hope that the Wilson that was so good in Detroit earlier this year shows up instead of the Wilson we had with the Cubs the last two months.

Also, the Cubs are keeping Leonys Martin on the postseason roster, presumably as a defensive replacement/pinch-runner.

Here’s the entire division series roster.

Pitchers (11)

Kyle Hendricks
Jon Lester
Jose Quintana
Jake Arrieta
John Lackey
Wade Davis
Pedro Strop
Carl Edwards Jr.
Brian Duensing
Mike Montgomery
Justin Wilson

Catchers (2)

Willson Contreras
Alex Avila

Infielders (6)

Anthony Rizzo
Javier Baez
Addison Russell
Kris Bryant
Ben Zobrist
Tommy La Stella

Outfielders (6)

Jason Heyward
Jon Jay
Albert Almora Jr.
Kyle Schwarber
Ian Happ
Leonys Martin