clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jason Heyward wins Gold Glove

It was the 5th career Gold Glove for the Cubs right fielder

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

MLB: New York Mets at Chicago Cubs Patrick Gorski-USA TODAY Sports

The Rawlings Gold Glove Awards were announced tonight and Cubs right fielder Jason Heyward won his fourth straight National League Gold Glove and fifth overall. He won the award for right field over the Dodgers’ Yasiel Puig and the Marlins’ Giancarlo Stanton.

In winning the award, Heyward becomes the first Cub to win consecutive Gold Gloves since Greg Maddux won three in a row from 2004 to 2006. (Maddux finished 2006 with the Dodgers) Heyward is the first Cubs position player to win the award in consecutive years since Mark Grace in 1995-96 and the first Cubs outfielder to win the award in consecutive seasons since Andre Dawson in 1987-88. Bob Dernier is the only other Cubs outfielder to have won the award.

Heyward has been a disappointment at the plate since signing with the Cubs before the 2016 season, but his glove has been terrific. He saved 18 runs in right field last season, a high among National League right fielders.

You can also vote for Heyward to win the “Platinum Glove” at from 9pm Central Time tonight until 9pm on Thursday night.

Heyward was the only Cubs player to bring home a Gold Glove this season. Anthony Rizzo was one of the finalists at first base, but the award went to the Diamondbacks Paul Goldschmidt. Ben Zobrist was nominated for his work at second base, but former Cub DJ LeMahieu took home the award instead.

Congratulations to Jason for this well-deserved honor.