clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cubs Announce Ringbearer Contest Winners

Here are the 20 lucky fans who’ll present World Series rings to the World Series champions on April 12.

David Richard-USA TODAY Sports

SCOTTSDALE, Arizona — The Cubs received 1,500 entries in their ringbearer contest and Tuesday morning, announced the winners. Here are the names, along with links to the winning videos submitted:

Jeff Birtell, 58, from DeKalb, Ill.
Grace Davis, 20, from Jefferson City, Mo.
Alex Dorn, 29, from Chicago, Ill.
Paul “Crawly” Dzien, 40, from Bartlett, Ill.
Michael Folsom, 30, from Palos Hills, Ill.
Dennis Gieseke, 72, from Roselle, Ill.
Joanne Harrer, 76, from Naperville, Ill.
Melissa Hurd, 37, from Carol Stream, Ill.
Lauren Klein, 13, from Peru, Ill.
Amy Liss, 34, from Downers Grove, Ill.
Tom Magno, 50, from Chicago, Ill.
Jessie McGinn, 26, from Arlington Heights, Ill.
Doug Meyer, 60, from Deerfield, Ill.
David Morimoto, 55, from Joliet, Ill.
Bob O’Hara, 38, from Elkhart, Ind.
Erv Schreiber, 86, from Indianapolis, Ind.
Steven Teplinsky, 63, from Mundelein, Ill.
Jimmy Thurman, 90, from Kewanee, Ill.
Tom Wakefield, 48, from Brownsburg, Ind.
George Wiseman, 72, from Mount Prospect, Ill.

“The greatest journey in sports history was backed by the greatest fans in all of sports, and we’re thrilled to reward 20 deserving people from that passionate group with this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity,” said Cubs President of Business Operations Crane Kenney. “We’re so thankful for our fans’ ongoing support as we built the foundation for our long-awaited championship. It will be rewarding to see our World Series rings presented to players and coaches by such an impressive group of fans.”

The winners will receive two tickets to the April 12 ring ceremony game and, if not from Chicago, transportation and accommodations. The presenters will wear unique Majestic jerseys and New Era hats to match the players’ uniforms that day, and will be among the first fans to get a look at the Cubs World Series rings designed by Jostens.

Congratulations to these 20 lucky fans. You can find out more about each of them here.