clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

8 Cubs On All-Star Ballot; Voting Begins Monday

Five Cubs got elected last year. Will they warrant the same in 2017?

In 2016, the Cubs’ entire infield along with Dexter Fowler (who couldn’t play due to an injury) were elected to the National League All-Star team.

Today is the day that All-Star balloting begins, and as was the case the last two years, all balloting this year is online.

You can vote at, all 30 team websites and via the At Bat and Ballpark mobile apps. Beginning today, you can vote for starters a total of 35 times including a maximum of five valid ballots cast in any 24-hour period. During the voting period, the ballot will be available in English and Spanish, and will offer audio CAPTCHA functionality for visually impaired fans.

The AL All-Star Team will have nine elected starters via the fan balloting program, while the NL All-Star Team will have eight fan-elected starters. The pitchers and reserves for both squads — totaling 23 for the N.L. and 22 for the A.L. — will be determined through a combination of “Player Ballot” choices and selections made by the Commissioner’s Office. The N.L. squad will be led by Cubs manager Joe Maddon of the defending World Series champions and the A.L. team will be guided by Terry Francona of the defending league champion Cleveland Indians.

After the rosters are announced, there will once again be a “Final Vote” for the last player on each league’s 32-man roster. Once again that will all be done online.

Here are the players who are appearing on the National League ballot:

You’ll note the three outfielders listed for the Cubs are Ben Zobrist, Jason Heyward and Kyle Schwarber. Albert Almora Jr. is a notable omission; depending on how he plays over the next few weeks, he might merit votes.

And here’s the American League ballot:

Here is the online ballot. Go vote!