clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Cubs spring training tickets on sale Saturday

New, 43 comments

Here’s everything you need to know, including details of a presale.

Photo by Rich Pilling/Getty Images

Feeling pretty cold in Chicago or the Midwest these days? This kind of scene getting you down?

Photo by Bilgin S. Sasmaz/Anadolu Agency/Getty Images

Take heart. Baseball is coming! It’s just 52 days until the Cubs first spring-training game at Sloan Park, February 24 against the Rangers (they’ll open the spring schedule the previous day against the Brewers at Maryvale).

Tickets for games at Sloan Park in Mesa go on sale this Saturday. Here are all the details you’ll need for that day if you’re looking for spring tickets.

The general on-sale begins Saturday, January 6, at 10 a.m. MT/11 a.m. CT.

On that day you can buy tickets online at cubs.com, by phone at 800-THE-CUBS (800-843-2827) or in person at the Sloan Park ticket office from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. MT. There is a limit of six tickets per game and a maximum of four games per order.

Standard box office hours are 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. MT, Monday through Friday and Saturday from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. MT, as well as during Sunday home games. The Cubs Team Store at Sloan Park will open January 6 at 8 a.m. MT. For a list of Team Store hours, visit sloanpark.com.

“After another record-setting attendance at Sloan Park last season, we expect a strong showing when tickets go on sale and encourage fans to purchase their must-have dates early,” said Justin Piper, general manager, Spring Training Business Operations.

If you’re interested in specific games and want to make sure you get those tickets, there will be an online-only Mastercard Presale beginning Friday, January 5, at 11 a.m. MT/noon CT through 10:59 p.m. MST/11:59 p.m. CST. If you use a Mastercard you can purchase single game spring tickets in advance of the general on-sale at a 15 percent premium in excess of face value. Other forms of payment will require a 20 percent premium.

The complete spring training schedule is here.

If you have other questions about spring training, email mesa@cubs.com. For updated information and to take a virtual tour of Sloan Park, please visit sloanpark.com.

I’ll post a “Tales from the virtual waiting room” here Saturday morning so you can share your stories of obtaining Cubs spring-training tickets.