clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Baseball history unpacked, December 21

The College of Coaches, Kong’s natal anniversary, and other stories

Dave Kingman #10
Gonna kill that ball
Photo by: Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

A wildly popular Cubs-centric look at baseball’s past. Here’s a handy Cubs timeline, to help you follow along as we review select scenes from the rich tapestry of Chicago Cubs and Major League Baseball history.

Today in baseball history:

  • 1944 - In an even closer vote than occurred in the AL, where Hal Newhouser won by four points, the NL MVP award goes to fielding wizard Marty Marion. The Cardinals shortstop tallies one more vote than Cubs slugger Bill Nicholson. Led by Marion at shortstop, the Cardinals erred only 112 times and averaged.982. Both marks top the previous records held by the 1940 Reds. (2)
  • 1960 - Cubs owner P.K. Wrigley announces the club will not have a manager next season, but will instead use a college of coaches. The ‘faculty’ for the upcoming campaign will include El Tappe, Charlie Grimm, Goldie Holt, Bobby Adams, Harry Craft, Verlon Walker, Ripper Collins, and Vedie Himsl, with each serving as “head coach” for part of the season. (1)

More about this ill-fated experiment from BBRef, Fangraphs, and BCB.


Thanks for reading. #Cubsnews