clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Cubs announce 40-man postseason player pool

New, comments

You’ll see some surprise names there, but there’s a catch.

Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

Here are the 40 players who are in the Cubs’ postseason player pool for this season:


RHP Jason Adam
RHP Adbert Alzolay
LHP Rex Brothers
LHP Andrew Chafin
RHP Tyler Chatwood
RHP Yu Darvish
RHP Kyle Hendricks
RHP Jeremy Jeffress
RHP Craig Kimbrel
LHP Jon Lester
LHP Brailyn Marquez
RHP Alec Mills
LHP Josh Osich
LHP Jose Quintana
RHP Colin Rea
LHP Kyle Ryan
LHP Justin Steele
RHP Ryan Tepera
RHP Duane Underwood Jr.
RHP Rowan Wick
RHP Dan Winkler


Victor Caratini
Willson Contreras
P.J. Higgins
Josh Phegley


Javier Baez
David Bote
Kris Bryant
Nico Hoerner
Jason Kipnis
Jose Martinez
Anthony Rizzo
Ildemaro Vargas
Patrick Wisdom


Albert Almora Jr.
Billy Hamilton
Ian Happ
Jason Heyward
Cameron Maybin
Kyle Schwarber

Now, don’t get too excited about seeing Brailyn Marquez on this list. These are the players who will be eligible to play for the Cubs in the postseason. Anyone not on the 40-man roster (like Marquez) would still have to be added to the 40-man in order to play, and of course the roster limit for each series will be 28. That roster can be adjusted for each series.

Now let’s hope the Cubs finish the regular season on a high note and actually win some postseason games.