clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

MLB announces full wild card series TV schedule and the Cubs will play all day games

New, comments

It’s a throwback to old-school postseason baseball.

Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

The Cubs’ first postseason game, Wednesday against the Marlins, will begin at 1 p.m. CT.

Major League Baseball’s schedule for the remaining games in the wild-card round have the Cubs playing their second and third (if necessary) games in that series also in the daytime. Here’s the complete schedule:

So the Cubs will once again be on ABC-7 in Chicago (and other ABC over-the-air broadcast affiliates nationwide), and the games will all be at 1:08 p.m. CT. However, the Cubs game will be moved to a night game at 6:08 p.m. CT if it’s the only game remaining Friday.

Here are other contingencies as announced by MLB Tuesday evening:

10/1 Contingencies

*Reds @ Braves moves to 3:10 p.m. (ET) if White Sox @ Athletics and Astros @ Twins both are complete.

^Astros @ Twins moves to 3:10 p.m. (ET)/2:10 p.m. (CT) if White Sox @ Athletics is complete.

+Cardinals @ Padres moves to 7:08 p.m. (ET)/4:08 p.m. (PT) if Yankees @ Indians is complete.

10/2 Contingencies

*Marlins @ Cubs moves to 7:08 p.m. (ET)/6:08 p.m. (CT) if it is the only game remaining.

^Reds @ Braves moves to 2:08 p.m. (ET) if Marlins @ Cubs is complete and at least one of Brewers @ Dodgers and Cardinals @ Padres is complete; or Reds @ Braves moves to 7:08 p.m. (ET) if Brewers @ Dodgers and Cardinals @ Padres both are complete.

+Brewers @ Dodgers moves to 7:08 p.m. (ET)/4:08 p.m. (PT) if Cardinals @ Padres is complete.

$Cardinals @ Padres moves to 7:08 p.m. (ET)/4:08 p.m. (PT) if Brewers @ Dodgers is complete.

Yes, I know this is all pretty complicated and confusing, but it’ll sort itself out as the games are all completed.

But get ready for some day baseball each of the next two afternoons, just like postseason baseball was before the 1980s.