clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

No one elected to Hall of Fame for the 2021 class

New, comments

The Hall will still have players at an induction ceremony in July, though.

Photo by Jim McIsaac/Getty Images

Members of the Baseball Writers Association of America, charged each year with electing members to the sport’s Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York, failed to elect anyone in 2021.

Curt Schilling received 71.1 percent, falling 16 votes short. He received the most votes of anyone on this year’s ballot. Last year he got 70.0 percent.

Barry Bonds received 61.8 percent of the vote, slightly more than the 60.7 percent he had in 2020, and Roger Clemens 61.6 percent, up a tick from the 61.0 percent he received last year. Bonds, Clemens and Schilling will be in their final years on the writers’ ballot in 2022.

As for Cubs on the ballot, Sammy Sosa received 68 votes, 17 percent. Sosa received 13.9 percent in 2020, and he’ll also be in his final year of eligibility in 2022.

Aramis Ramirez, on the ballot for the first time, received four votes, 1 percent, and so he falls off the ballot. Three first-timers will remain on the ballot next year; Mark Buehrle (11 percent), Torii Hunter (9.5 percent) and Tim Hudson (5.2 percent).

14 writers submitted blank ballots, the most ever. The previous high for blank ballots was 12. You can read all the vote results here.

Last year’s class, which didn’t get an induction ceremony when it was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic, will get its chance on a July afternoon this year in Cooperstown:

The Class of 2020 – consisting of Derek Jeter, Marvin Miller, Ted Simmons and Larry Walker – will be inducted on Sunday, July 25, 2021, in Cooperstown, alongside any new members elected as part of the Hall of Fame Class of 2021. The Awards Presentation on Saturday, July 24, 2021 will recognize the Hall of Fame’s 2020 and 2021 Award Winners, including 2020 J.G. Taylor Spink Award winner Nick Cafardo, 2020 Ford C. Frick Award winner Hawk Harrelson and the winner of the 2020 Buck O’Neil Lifetime Achievement Award, David Montgomery.

Jeter’s presence in Cooperstown should bring a pretty large crowd to upstate New York. Next year’s ballot will be very interesting, as Alex Rodriguez and David Ortiz will be the most prominent first-ballot names.