clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLB announces Arizona Fall League schedule

Prospects from all 30 teams will play a 30-game schedule in October and November.

Getty Images

The Arizona Fall League has long been a showcase for teams to get their top prospects some extra playing time after the minor-league season ends.

Wednesday, MLB announced the 2021 AFL schedule, which runs from October 13 through November 20. Here’s the full calendar schedule:

The AFL has six teams – the Glendale Desert Dogs, Mesa Solar Sox, Peoria Javelinas, Salt River Rafters, Scottsdale Scorpions and Surprise Saguaros. That’s broken up into two divisions: East (Mesa, Salt River, Scottsdale) and West (Glendale, Peoria, Surprise).

The six clubs will each play a 30-game schedule at Spring Training ballparks, including Camelback Ranch in Glendale (Los Angeles Dodgers and Chicago White Sox), Sloan Park Mesa (Chicago Cubs), Peoria Sports Complex (Seattle Mariners and San Diego Padres), Salt River Stadium at Talking Stick (Arizona Diamondbacks and Colorado Rockies), Scottsdale Stadium (San Francisco Giants) and Surprise Stadium (Texas Rangers and Kansas City Royals).

Fans can attend AFL games under COVID-19 safety protocols that are in place with guidance from local and state health officials. You can purchase season passes at this link, with single passes available for $100 ($75 discounted rate for seniors 55+) and double passes available for $125 ($100 discounted rate for seniors 55+). Individual game tickets are available for purchase the day of the game at the stadium box office. Tickets go on sale beginning one hour prior to game time. Tickets are $9 for an adult and $7 for seniors 55+. Children 12 and under who are accompanied by an adult receive free admission. For more ticket information, call (480) 990-1005. Players and coaches will not be signing autographs this season per the Major League Baseball’s COVID-19 protocols. Click here to read ticket terms & conditions.

Each MLB team will send seven top prospects to fill the rosters of the six teams.

Here are the AFL teams and their MLB affiliates for the 2021 season: Glendale (Angels, Astros, Cardinals, Dodgers, White Sox), Mesa (Athletics, Blue Jays, Cubs, Marlins, Orioles), Peoria (Braves, Mariners, Padres, Phillies, Pirates), Salt River (Brewers, Diamondbacks, Mets, Rockies, Tigers), Scottsdale (Giants, Indians, Rays, Red Sox, Twins) and Surprise (Nationals, Reds, Rangers, Royals, Yankees). The 2021 AFL rosters will be announced at a later date.

Typically, the Fall Stars Game and AFL championship game are televised on MLB Network, to give you a bit of live TV baseball in November. I’ll post that info when it’s confirmed.

Josh and I discussed the Cubs prospects who could go to the AFL and among them are Brennen Davis, Chase Strumpf, Christopher Morel, Greg Deichmann and Anderson Espinoza. Just a note that both of us are guessing. When full rosters are announced, I’ll post them here.